Skip to content

Residence permit

The Embassy of Denmark in Accra handles applications for residence permits to Denmark and Iceland. The Embassy does not handle residence permit applications on behalf of Finland or Sweden.

For applications for residence in Finland or Sweden, the applicant should consult the Finnish Embassy or the Swedish Embassy in Abuja.

For nationals from:

  • Ghana, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea (Conakry), Liberia, Sierra Leone and Togo, the receipt for the payment should be submitted at the Danish Visa Application Centre (VFS) in Accra, Ghana, where you hand in your passport, relevant documentation and supply biometrics. Please note that in R/W permit cases there are three fees to be paid. 1) The fee to either The Danish Immigration Service or The Danish Agency for International Recruitment and Integration (SIRI), 2) the fee to the Danish embassy (using the link and 3) the fee to the Danish Visa Application Centre (VFS).
  • Other nationals should submit applications at a Danish diplomatic mission in their country of origin. If the applicant has been a legal resident in another country for the past three months, it is also possible to submit the application at Danish diplomatic mission in that country.

A residence permit to Denmark is only given upon approval by the Danish Immigration Service in Denmark. The process may take 4-6 months, before a reply from Denmark is received. Such a permit will be valid for Denmark only, not the entire Schengen-area.

To apply for residence in other Schengen States than Denmark and Iceland;

  • Applicants will need to consult the nearest diplomatic mission of the country they wish to seek residence in. In the case of Finland and Sweden, applicants may consult the embassies in Abuja.